The Options and The Quote…


Ok after a week of waiting and ringing the dentist twice, I finally received 3 different treatment plans but only recieve a quote for the most expensive. When I saw the amount, I wanted to throw-up! Literally…

Treatment Option 1:

  • Extractions of all remaining teeth, which are periodontally involved. Would be extracted in 2 appointments. All posterior regions would be grafted to maintain the bone height to receive implants at a later stage. This would get rid of the periodontal disease which has caused the extreme deterioration.
  • Surgical insertion of 6 to 8 implants for the lower jaw. The surgery would be guided with CAD/CAM surgical stent, which help the operator locate the implants accurately. Time needed 2 to 3 hours in 1 appointment.
  • Surgical insertion of 6 implants for the upper jaw – CAD/CAM surgery. Time needed 2-3 hours in 1 appointment.
  • After a healing period of 8 weeks for the lower jaw implants, and 12 to 16 weeks for the upper jaw, the implants woudl be loaded, initially with temporary acrylic fixed bridges, and later after 6 to 8 weeks with permanent Ceramo-metal bridges.
  • During the healing phase, under normal circumstances removalbe dentures woudl be worn by the patient. As Donna has a hypersensitive gaggin reflex, dentures would not be inserted in her mouth!
  • Time period 12 to 14 months, No.s of appointments 15 to 20.
  • An informed consent for implany surgery & oral sedation are mandatory
  • Total cost for the entire process…. $93201.95

Treatment Option 2:

  • Extraction of all the upper teeth, and only the lower central & lateral incisors, with surgical periodontal treatments of the lower canines and the remaining posterior teeth.
  • The treatments for the upper jaw remain the same, while the lower jaw would involve insertion of 3 implants at the 32, 42 & 36 regions.
  • The retained teeth would be rootcanaled and crowned.
  • Time period  12 -14 months

Treatment Option 3:

  • Extraction of all teeth, with bone grafting the posterior segments.
  • Insertion of 4 implants in the upper jaw, and 2 implants for the lower jaw.
  • Removable dentures, clipped on to the implants
  • Time period 8-10 months

So those are my options with the 3rd treatment option being the most economical, obviously, but I have SO many questions now. At the moment I’m waiting for a call back from Dr. Nariv himself to discuss these options and I wanted to ask why I don’t have quotes for the other two.

I did receive a breakdown of the first treatment by appoitment and got the cost breakdown for each appointment. I just don’t think I can cover this sort of cost. Bad enough trying to purchase a car that’s 14k let alone a new set of teeth for 93k.

I just want to cry. I expected a hefty cost but not THIS hefty.
I’m so lost now.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Options and The Quote…

  1. I right there with ya! I could not afford the implants. I am going with the secure dentures. I won’t be getting the “secure” part until 3 months from now mainly because of cost. It will all work out. Take care! I am thinking about ya. Dee2

  2. Oh hon 😦 ….93K!!! OMG!! I’m so sorry 😦 That’s almost 3/4 the value of our house!

    Sorry I haven’t been able to get to this sweetie, I know you understand, I’ve been in such a swirl of shiz here…not knowing if death sentence were coming sooner rather than later to my last sibling. I’m on anxiety meds now.

    Anyway, lots of reading to catch up on here. We found out Allen has to lose his front four top…God it never ends. Just couldn’t fit dental care in the financial picture in the last three years, so here’s the result 😦

    14k car, LOL…never happen here! 😛 I wish…not in the cards, always it’s health, taxes…never ending.

Leave a comment